Hazelton wins Commissioner’s Cup | News, Sports, Jobs

CHAUTAUQUA – The Wednesday Travel League held its eighth annual Commissioner’s Cup in honor of League Commissioner Bruce “Java” Chrabasz, on the Hill Course at Chautauqua Golf Club.

Golfers wore brown, orange and white, the colors of Java’s favorite team, the Cleveland Browns.

gary “Herbie” Hazelton was this year’s champion, winning the event for the first time.

Flight winners were Dan Cassidy (A Flight), Mike Wolfe (B), Jim Ellman Sr. (C) and Jim Fafinski (D). Cassidy became the event’s first repeat A-Flight winner (low scratch score), having also won in 2017. Cassidy’s round of 16 saw off Robert Calph (82) and Wayne Stoughton (83). Calph was low on the front nine at 38, while Stoughton and Joe Michalski were low on the back nine at 40 seconds. The winner of the weekly Bruce “Java” The Chrabasz commissioner’s prize was Hazelton.

Also Read :  Accused killer Lucy Letby told mom, 'Trust me, I'm a nurse'

Untied birdies were recorded by: A Flight – Dan Cassidy (#4), Jeff Nelson (#7), Joe Jusko (#9), Joe Woloszyn (#13) and Jeff Cassidy (#17); B Flight – Gary Haase (#1), Jason Habich (#3, 5), Mike Willoughby (#7), Ron Szach (#8, 9, 10), Dave Franklin (#13) and Wolfe (No. 16); C Flight – Tom Destro (#1, 5, 14, 15) and Jack Hood (#4, 12); D Flight – Lenny Leszkowicz (#3), Pete Pinkoski (#4), Bob Adams (#5), Tim Beebe (#6), Fafinski (#7, 16), Kurt Wolnik (#8 ). ), Steve Zatorski Sr. (No. 9) and Jaime Galarza (No. 14).

Also Read :  Bagnaia wins in Malaysia to all but seal MotoGP world title

The closest to the pin were Ken Kaus (No. 2), Jeff Cassidy (No. 7), Franklin (No. 13) and Tom Sacilowski (No. 15). Winners of the par 3 contest were Calph (A flight, plus-2), John Bongiovanni Jr. (B, plus-2), Doug Grace (C, plus-3) and Wolnik (D, plus-5). Winners of the steeplechase were Dan Cassidy (A Flight), Wolfe (B), Grace (C) and Dan Kaszuba (D).

In the Browns Ball Contest, the low score of 84 was shot by Team Jusko, Woloszyn, Joe Bifaro and Wolnik. First out was the team of Habich, Beebe, Zatorski and Joe Yerico, who lost the ball on their second hole.

Also Read :  Fake Joe Rogan and Steve Jobs AI-Powered Interview Freaks Out the Internet

Top point winners were Franklin (68), Woloszyn (56), Nelson (45), Destro (44), Szach (42) and Jeff Cassidy (40). Season Leaders: 1st Josh Hilliker (385), 2nd Ed Tofil (351), 3rd Franklin (334), 4th Wolfe (289), 5th Calph (273), 6th Destro (248), 7th Nelson (237), 8th Stoughton (236), 9th Bifaro (229) and 10th Pinkoski (216).

This week the league is playing at Green Meadows Golf Course in Northeast Pennsylvania with a 9:30 am start. Golfers are asked to register by Monday noon.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Source link